Read: Sanskrit Glossary

April 9, 2021

Many words from Ayurveda and Yoga are written in Sanskrit, the classical language of South Asia belonging to the Indo-Aryan branch of Indo-European Languages. To help you understand some of the more common Sanskit words, we have pulled together a short glossary:

Ajara: Literally “without age.” Ageless

Ajna: The third eye or brow chakra

Ayur: Life and Longevity

Anupana: Literally– vehicle. A substance for herbs to be taken with

Apana: Downward flow of energy

Asana: Yogic postures

Ayurveda: The science of life, the oldest system of health and healing

Dharana: Concentration; one of the seven stages of yoga realization

Dosha: The three basic types of biological forces, determines personal constitution

Gunas: The three forces of sattva, rajas, and tamas (creation, change, and destruction) Also refers to the 20 opposite attributes of the doshas

Kapha: Biological force of bodily water. Combined elements of earth and water

Kitchari: a mixture of mung dhal, rice, spices, and ghee

Marma: One of the vital energy points where matter and consciousness converge

Panchakarma: The five actions of nasal cleaning, emesis, purgation, enema, and bloodletting

Paschatkarma: The third stage of shodana; Actions taken after panchakarma

Pitta: The biological force of bodily fire. Combined elements of fire and water.

Prakruti: True nature; Perfect state of balance

Purvakarma: Before action; the first part of shodana; actions before panchakarma

Rajas: State of change– Kinetic energy

Rasayana: The fourth stage of shodana; Rejuvenation therapy

Samadhi: State of pure joy

Sattva: State of creation– Potential creative energy

Shirodhara: Medicated oil treatment on the third eye to calm the nervous system

Shodana: Succession of internal and external cleansing practices to rid the body of toxins

Snehana: Oleation; oiling the body internally and externally

Swedana: Sudation; sweating

Tamas: State of Destruction: potential destructive energy

Udana: Upward flow of energy

Vata: The biological force of bodily air. Combined elements of ether and air.

Vayu: The movement of vata– wind

Veda: Pure Knowledge

Vedas: Volumes of sacred texts over 3000 years oldVikruti: Current state of imbalance


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Read next…